About AASP

AASP Board Members


Beverly Fauman, MD   Beverly J. Fauman, MD
AASP Representative to the Assembly of the American Psychiatric Association
Past President, AASP
Rama Rao Gogineni, MD   Rama Rao Gogineni, MD
Past President, AASP
Charles Huffine, MD  

Charles Huffine, MD
AASP Councilor, 2013-2017
Past President, AASP

John Halpern, MD  

John H. Halpern, MD
AASP Secretary

Sheila Judge  

Sheila Judge, MD
AASP President Elect


Danielle Martin, MD
AASP Councilor, 2013-2017

Aida Mihajlovic, MD  

Aida S. Mihajlovic, MD
AASP Councilor, 2013-2017

C M Prasad, MD  

C. M. Prasad, MD, PhD
AASP Councilor, 2013-2017

Andres Pumariega

Andres J. Pumariega, MD
AASP Immediate Past President

Eugenio Rothe, MD  

Eugenio M. Rothe, MD
AASP Vice President

Pedro Ruiz, MD  

Pedro Ruiz, MD
Past President, AASP

Jacob Sperber, MD

Jacob E. Sperber, MD
AASP Treasurer

Kenneth-Thompson, MD  

Kenneth Thompson, MD
AASP President


WASP 2016

World Association for Social Psychiatry

XXII World Congress - New Delhi, India

APA Annual Meeting - Atlanta, May 14-18

APA annual meeting 2016

AASP-sponsored Presentations
[all held at Georgia World Congress Center]

Saturday, May 14th
3:30-5:00 – Workshop - Bldg B, Room B310
Diversity Experiences in Residency Training
Chair: Beverly Fauman, MD
Aida Mihajlovic, MD,
Jacob Sperber, MD

Sunday, May 15th
10:00-11:30 – Forum – Bldg B, Room B206
Abraham L. Halpern Humanitarian Award Forum
Abortion: What’s Happening and Why It
Matters to Women, Society, and Psychiatry
Chair: Kenneth Thompson, MD
Nada Stotland, MD (Awardee)
Helen Hermann, MD
Maria Oquendo, MD

Tuesday, May 17th
9:00-12:00 – Symposium – Bldg A, A402-403
Social Trauma (joint AASP-WASP presentation)
Chairs: Sheila Judge, MD
& Roy Kallivayalil, MD
Thomas Jamison-Craig, MBBS, PhD
Driss Moussaoui, MD
Vivian Pender, MD
Andres Pumariega, MD
Kenneth Thompson, MD

2:00-5:00 – Symposium – Bldg A, A410
Undocumented and Refugee Children
Arriving at U.S. Borders: Mental Health
Issues and Treatment Interventions
Chair: Eugenio Rothe, MD
William Arroyo, MD,
Juan Carlos Gomez, Esq
Andres Pumariega, MD
Pedro Ruiz, MD

Presentations of Interest by AASP Members
Saturday, May 14th
1:30-3:00 – Workshop
Mental Health and the Case
For Single Payer Post-ACA
Chairs: Leslie Gise, MD
and Steven Sharfstein, MD

Sunday, May 15th
8:00-11:00 – Symposium – Bldg B, Rm B401
Forgiveness, Trauma, and Psychiatry:
The Clinical Relevance from Diverse Faith
Perspectives in the Wake of the Charleston
Church Tragedy
Kevin Brown,
Deborah Deas, MD, MPH
R. Rao Gogineni, MD
H. Steven Moffic, MD
Driss Moussaoui, MD
John Peteet, MD
Shridhar Sharma, MD

Monday, May 16th
11:00-12:30 – Workshop – Bldg B, Rm B315
Achieving Health Equity: Psychiatry, Public
Policy & the Elimination of Childhood Poverty
Chairs: Kenneth Thompson, MD
and Steven Adelsheim, MD

11:00-12:30 – Workshop
International Medical Graduates: Reflections
On Cross-Cultural Training and Learning
Chairs: Tanuja Gandhi, MD
and Rama Rao Gogineni, MD

1:30-3:00 – Forum
The Financing of Psychiatric Care:
Past, Present, and Future
Chair: Steven Sharfstein, MD